

Pulaski County Election Commission Meeting Minutes May 18, 2021 7:30 p.m.

Members Present:

Staff Present:

Kristi M. Stahr Joshua A. Price David G. Scott

Shawn Camp Betty Green Jodie Dildy Amanda Dickens Bart Moreland

Visitors Present: Austin Bailey, Arkansas Times; Neal Earley, Arkansas Democrat Gazette; Syd Orton; Richard Wilhelm; Deborah Wilhelm; Bailey McKinnon; Zach Stahr; Charles Beckman; Cheryl Yopp; Rick Yopp

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Chairwoman Stahr. A quorum was present, with all commissioners in attendance.

The pledge of allegiance was led by Bailey McKinnon.

Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes

Commissioner Price moved to approve the minutes for the April 28, 2021 meeting. Motion passed by voice vote.

Business

Canvass Absentee Ballots for the May 18, 2021 Annual School Election There were 10 absentee ballots were returned. Seven were counted and three were presented to the commissioners for their review. There are 116 outstanding Uniformed Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) ballots, deadline for returning these ballots is May 28, 2021. Upon review of the absentee ballots, Commissioner Price moved to accept two ballots that contained mismatched addresses and reject one ballot that was missing a voter statement. Motion passed by voice vote.

Certification of Unofficial Election Results for the May 18, 2021 Annual School Election

The unofficial election results for the May 18, 2021 Annual School Election are as follows:

Jacksonville North Pulaski	School Board	Zone 4
Laura Walker	206 votes	90.35%
Theresa McClendon	22 votes	9.65%
Jacksonville North Pulaski	School Distric	t 48.3 Millage
For tax	231 votes	66.19%
Against tax	118 votes	33.81%

Commissioner Price moved to approve the unofficial election results for the May 18, 2021 Annual School Election. Motion passed by voice vote.

Other Business

Approval of Nepotism and Political Diversity Policy

Mr. Wilhelm, Mrs. Wilhelm, Mr. Orton, Mr. Beckman, Mrs. Yopp and Mr. Yopp all spoke against the proposed nepotism and political diversity policy. After much discussion, this matter was tabled for a future meeting with Chairwoman Stahr agreeing to work with the poll workers for establishing a policy.

Discussion of Equipment Deployment and Retrieval

This matter was tabled for a later date.

Discussion of Redistricting

Chairwoman Stahr shared that it will be late August or September 2021 before the redistricting process can begin.

Discussion of Website Updates

Chairwoman Stahr requested clarification regarding the current business status for Up-Link. This matter will be researched, and a report provided later.

Public Comments

Mr. Beckman thanked the commissioners for the opportunity to speak regarding the nepotism and political diversity policy.

Mrs. Yopp thanked the commissioners for the opportunity to speak regarding the nepotism and political diversity policy.

Announcements

Commissioner Price announced that he will be resigning as a commissioner effective May 31, 2021. The Democratic Party will meet on May 24, 2021 to select his replacement.

Schedule of Upcoming Meetings

The May 21, 2021 meeting was cancelled because there were no provisional ballots to review for the May 18, 2021 Annual School Election.

May 28, 2021 at 12:05 p.m. for the certification of election results for the May 18, 2021 Annual School Election. This meeting will be held in the Jeffrey Hawkins conference room at the Pulaski County Regional Building.

Meeting adjourned at 9:16 p.m.